Morris K. Udall Award for Public Service

Each year, the Parkinson’s Action Network awards at least one Morris K. Udall Award for Public Service at the annual Morris K. Udall Awards Dinner, a celebration of the Parkinson’s community.

2014 Recipient

Representative Henry A. Waxman
33rd Congressional District of California
Rep. Waxman is receiving the Udall Award for his lifetime of work supporting federally funded research and health policies that improve the lives of people with Parkinson’s disease. Learn more.

About the Award
Morris “Mo” K. Udall served in the House of Representatives for 30 years and was a candidate for the Democratic Presidential nomination in 1976. During Udall’s distinguished career, he infused American politics with his singular style of humor, grace, and dignity. Many of today’s leaders – both Democrats and Republicans – have cited Mo as an inspiration and role model. As a partisan Democrat, he was a much-feared debate opponent, but he was fair and always decent. It is in this spirit that the Morris K. Udall Award for Public Service is presented to an individual who has made important contributions to public policy with humor, grace, and dignity. Mo was diagnosed with Parkinson’s in 1980 and died of complications from the disease in 1998.

Past Recipients

Rep. Joe Barton (Texas)
Sen. Bill Bradley (New Jersey)
Art Buchwald
Rep. Michael Castle (Delaware)
Sen. Thad Cochran (Mississippi)
Sen. William Cohen (Maine)
Sen. Tom Daschle (South Dakota)
Sen. Bob Dole (Kansas)
Rep. Lane Evans (Illinois)
Douglas Fraser
COL (ret) Karl E. Friedl
Sen. Bill Frist (Tennessee)
Sen. Tom Harkin (Iowa)
Sen. Orrin Hatch (Utah)
Sen. Mark O. Hatfield (Oregon)
Sen. Edward Kennedy (Massachusetts)
Milly Kondracke
Dr. Story Landis
Rep. Jerry Lewis (California)
Sen. Connie Mack (Florida)
Rep. Carolyn Maloney (New York)
Sen. John McCain (Arizona)
Rep. David R. Obey (Wisconsin)
Rep. John Edward Porter (Illinois)
Christopher Reeve
Sen. Harry Reid (Nevada)
Hon. Janet Reno
Mark Russell
Mark Shields
Eric K. Shinseki
Sen. Alan Simpson (Wyoming)
Sen. Gordon Smith (Oregon)
Sen. Arlen Specter (Pennsylvania)
Rep. John M. Spratt (South Carolina)
Sen. Debbie Stabenow (Michigan)
Hon. Tommy Thompson
Rep. Fred Upton (Michigan)
Rep. Chris Van Hollen (Maryland)
Sen. Paul Wellstone (Minnesota)
Rep. C.W. Bill Young (Florida)