2010 Parkinson's Awareness Month

For the first time ever, on Friday, March 26, 2010 the United States Senate designated April as Parkinson’s Awareness Month.  Thanks to the support of Senators Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Johnny Isakson (R-GA), Mike Johanns (R-NE), and Mark Udall (D-CO), this designation is now a national reality.  In coordination with this designation, we encourage all Parkinson’s advocates across the country to work with their state and local governments to proclaim April as Parkinson’s Awareness Month.  There are few better ways of raising awareness of Parkinson’s disease on a large scale than promoting governmental awareness of this disease and our community.  We hope that you will use the momentum from the Senate’s designation and ask your state and local leaders to raise awareness of Parkinson’s.

Click the image below to view the full text of the Senate resolution.


Cities and States which have designated April as Parkinson's Awareness Month:

State of Alabama
State of Alaska
State of Arizona
State of Colorado
State of Connecticut
State of Florida
State of Illinois
State of Iowa
State of Kentucky
State of Maine
State of Maryland
State of Michigan
State of Mississippi
State of Missouri
State of Nebraska
State of New Jersey
State of New Mexico
State of New York
State of North Carolina
State of Rhode Island
State of South Carolina
State of South Dakota
State of Tennessee
State of Utah
Commonwealth of Virginia
State of Washington
State of West Virginia
State of Wisconsin
State of Wyoming

Alexandria, Virginia
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Asheville, North Carolina
Atlantic County, New Jersey
Bergen County New Jersey
Burlington County, New Jersey
Calvert County, Maryland
Camden County, New Jersey
Cartersville City, Georgia
Cartersville County, Georgia
Cedartown City Commission, Georgia
Collier County, Florida
Cumberland County, New Jersey
Dalton City, Georgia
Denver, Colorado

City Council of East Peoria, Illinois
Essex County, New Jersey
Floyd County, Georgia
Gloucester County, New Jersey
Gordon County, Georgia
Hudson County, New Jersey
Hunterdon County, New Jersey
Kaua‘i County, Hawaii
Lawrence, Kansas
Mercer County, New Jersey
Middlesex County, New Jersey
Monmouth County, New Jersey
Morris County, New Jersey
Naples, Florida
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Ocean County, New Jersey
Omaha, Nebraska
Papillion, Nebraska
Passaic County, New Jersey
Polk County Commission, Georgia
Raleigh, North Carolina
Ralston, Nebraska
Rockville, Maryland
Rome City, Georgia
Salem County, New Jersey
Somerset County, New Jersey
Sussex County, New Jersey
Tempe, Arizona

Traverse City, Michigan
Union County, New Jersey
Warren County, New Jersey
Yuma County, Arizona


Attachment Size
2010 City Proclamation (Word version) 38 KB
2010 City Proclamation (PDF version) 15.06 KB
PD Awareness Month Letter to the Editor (Word version) 40.5 KB
PD Awareness Month Letter to the Editor (PDF version) 12.33 KB
Proclamation Request Template (Word version) 22 KB
Proclamation Request Template (PDF version) 14.34 KB